The Board of Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa Tiaki Manatū shares in the responsibility of governing with the Sisters of Mercy across all of its entities in Health, Education, Community and Spirituality.

Board members

Virginia Noonan

Virginia joined the Board of Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa Tiaki Manatū in 2008. She is also the Chairperson of Our Lady of Victories School Board of Trustees, the Director of the New Zealand Catholic Education Office Ltd. Virginia graduated from the University of Canterbury with a Bachelors degree in Art/Art Studies and Law.Virginia lives in Christchurch with her husband Aaron and two children.

Katrina Fabish

Katrina Fabish was appointed as Congregation Leader of Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa in 2014. Katrina’s background is in education as a teacher and in leadership. Since 1992 she has been engaged in Mission Development in Mercy ministries, including 11 years served in leadership and several years as congregation leader of what was then known as Sisters of Mercy Auckland. Katrina’s real passion lies in a vision of hope for the restoration and wellbeing of women and children and planet earth our shared home. She was a member of the foundation community, Mercy House, a refuge for women and children founded in 1990, a dreamer for what is now Te Waipuna Puawai Mercy Oasis (founding board chair) and the founder of Papatūānuku ki Taurangi Earth Promise – all creative ministries responding to the cry of the poor and marginalised in our time.

Dr Sue France

Sue has a background in secondary and tertiary education and healthcare with a focus on mental wellbeing. She was appointed to the Leadership Team of Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa in 2014. She has a PhD in Pastoral Counselling from Loyola University in Baltimore, USA. Sue is a registered psychotherapist and has worked in a variety of clinical settings in the USA and Aotearoa, most recently in private practice at Marinoto Clinic, Mercy Hospital, Dunedin. She has been on the Board of Directors for Mercy Hospital Dunedin and joined the Board of Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa Tiaki Manatū in 2008.

Doc Godfrey

Doc Godfrey was commissioned as a director of the Tiaki Manatū Board in 2016. He is the General Manager of McAuley Trust, which is the central administration and asset owning entity for Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa Sisters of Mercy New Zealand. Doc is a chartered accountant and holds an MBA from the highly respected University of Cape Town Graduate School of Business. Doc has held senior management roles in the property and financial services industries.

Lorraine McArthur

Lorraine has been the former Director of Archdiocesan Pastoral Services,Wellington, a past Principal of St Catherine’s College Wellington. She joined the Board of Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa Tiaki Manatū in 2008.

Frank Tuck

Frank was a former Chief Executive of Diagnostic Medlab and retired after 40 years of service.He is a Director of Mercy Auckland Healthcare Ltd and as well as being the Chair of the McAuley Trust.

Phil Alexander-Crawford

Phil is the Director of Development at NorthTec Polytechnic, Tai Tokerau
Northland. Prior to this he held senior management roles with a number of Māori
Trusts and entities. He has practised law as well as being involved in Tertiary and
secondary education for over 20 years. This has included teaching, management,
research and governance with NZQA, the Tertiary Education Commission, and
high school boards. He recently sponsored and co-authored the Tai Tokerau Regional Investment Plan,
which was supported by learners, Maori, Industry and other stakeholders. He sits on Ako Aotearoa panels
and advisory groups including the recent National funding rounds. He is an advocate for the Regions,
Māori and learner success.
Phil is a published author in New Zealand Commercial Law (Thomson Reuters-2018). His research
interests include Māori and mainstream co-design in education and structural solutions to help achieve
change. He is studying towards a Doctorate.
Recently he joined the Ministries Board (Tiaki Manatū) as a board member.
Phil is married to Nicki and they have four wonderful children aged 23, 21, 18 and 16.