Mercy map

View historically important mercy sites on our map below. To use the map hover your cursor over the mercy cross icons for information.

Mercy’s first branch house, a convent opened in the Auckland suburb of Parnell in 1862. This set a trend which was followed throughout the country as new Mercy communities began to teach in local parishes.

Talks about amalgamating the four West Coast and Canterbury foundations began at Rome’s request in 1917, but full amalgamation was not achieved until 1946, with a motherhouse established in Christchurch.

On the 12th of December 2005, Ngā Whaea Atawhai o Aotearoa Sisters of Mercy New Zealand, founded as a single Congregation from four historic foundations.

1964 Tonga founded from Christchurch

1972 Samoa founded from Auckland